CUDA async cudaMemcpyAsync/cudaMallocHost

I recently autotuned a mobilenet based model and was blown away at the inference speed. ~3ms for a 1,3,720,1280 input, as reported by the “time_evaluator”.

Because the raw inference speeds are now so fast, I wanted to experiment with lowering any latency associated to inference, eg, host->gpu and gpu -> host before jumping into batching, which doesn’t always make sense when your input is a live 30fps camera feed.

This is my first time ever using CUDA, so I don’t want to assert any expertise here.
I wanted to try out some of the cudaMemcpyAsync + pinned memory to hopefully squeeze a little less latency out.

My model has one input and 9 outputs.

Without the stock TVM runtime I got an average 7.7ms for:

gpuInputNDArray.CopyFrom(cpu_tensor.get());
graphRuntime->Run();
for(int i = 0; i < output_count; ++i)
{
const auto& net_output = graphRuntime->GetOutput(i);
/* this CopyTo is synchronous */
net_output.CopyTo(cpu_ouput_tensors[i].get());
}

With cudaMemcpyAsync + cudaMallocHost i got an average of 5.15ms

I did have to add TVMSynchronize to be included in the time measurement because things are async now.

/ * this should be an async copy now * /
gpuInputNDArray.CopyFrom(cpu_tensor.get());
graphRuntime->Run();
for(int i = 0; i < output_count; ++i)
{
const auto& net_output = graphRuntime->GetOutput(i);
/* this CopyTo is asynchronous now and cpu_ouput_tensors will not have values until TVMSynchronize() */
net_output.CopyTo(cpu_ouput_tensors[i].get());
}
TVMSynchronize(_tvm_context.device_type, _tvm_context.device_id, nullptr);
/ * cpu_output_tensors can be read now device is synced */

I know its only an improvement of ~2.5ms latency, but given the inference time was only around 3ms, I took this as a win of sorts.

Here’s a link to the diff

Usage is simply:

TVMArrayAlloc(net_output_shape.data(),
net_output_shape.size(),
dtype_code,
dtype_bits,
dtype_lanes,