Dockerfile for mobile development

Hi. I 'd like to test the mobile applications of TVM so am learning how to prepare the environment. As it turns out, several packages are typically required for this, including gradle, Java runtime, Android studio and NDK. Unfortunately, some of them have custom installers and are overall bulky, which complicates the setup and don’t lead to reproducible workflow. There may be a reason in having default system image with all the things properly installed. AFAIK, tvm ships only *gpu and *cpu Dockerfiles for demonstration purposes. Did anybody already tried to encode tvm-friendly mobile development environment by writing a Dockerfile for it? Are there any reasons why this may be a not good idea?

Regards,
Sergey

We can consider putting something like this together; though I don’t know how well the required USB support would work in docker.

I’m very new to the project and community. Based on my experience with Docker, USB device can be mounted into the container at “runtime” and not build time. So the Dockerfile will be the same with most of your dependencies and your image startup command shall contain some custom mounting to make things work. This is very similar to GPU devices mounting in Docker containers.

Thanks, I also think that accessing USB port from Docker should be possible. Another problem - how to install Gradle, NDK and android tools? I heard it is possible to do it via GUI dialog from Android Studio, but it probably hard to encode as script. Is it possible to install those packages via command line? Do we really need Android Studio or Android SDK is enough?

As far as I’m aware, you can install Gradle and android tools with command line shell easily. You can refer to example like https://github.com/keeganwitt/docker-gradle/blob/dce2d0cea0b0e60435919b7c7faa686b6cccf2f1/jdk7/Dockerfile