TVM vs Manual optimization of a fixed CNN network

I need to accelerate the inference of a CNN network (similar to LeNet) for an octa-core Cortex A73 CPU.

Same Inference is invoked a Million times for each 4x4 pixel group in a 16 megapixel image. I am looking forward to manually apply following techniques for optimization:

1. Perform Inter-layer optimizations by localizing producer-consumer operations in tiles of the images. Network structure is fixed.
  2. Create 8 threads to process 1/8 Million inferences.
  3. Merge multiple inferences in order to achieve maximum throughput from NEON.

TVM can handles the first optimization very efficiently. But for rest of the 2 techniques, manual optimization seems better option.

I am new to TVM and confused to pick between TVM and manual optimization for this specific application.
The only priority for me at present is to achieve the least inference execution time for the entire image. Please guide !!

Have you tried autotuning schedule with autotvm?

What do you mean by “invoked a million times?” Are you referring to a convolution over a single image, or repeating the operations across multiple images?

right. I need to invoke the inferences over entire image with significantly overlapping receptive fields. So, “intra-inference” optimization is one aspect, I also need to merge together many inferences to make better use of cache.

So my initial thought is to group the layers whose parameters can sit in L1 along with image tile (with overlapping receptive fields) and traverse over tile before moving to next set of layers for the same tile.

Have you looked at the existing schedule (templates) in TVM? Many of them may already use variations of the strategies that you bring up here. If you have a graph declaration of your network (e.g., in terms of convolution operations, etc) it will likely be possible to automatically optimize this task.