Convert PyTorch to NNVM/TVM: accuracy is zero

Hi,

I am new in NNVM/TVM, and I encounter accuracy problem when trying to convert pre-trained PyTorch model (ResNet50) to NNVM/TVM.

Problem description:

When I use pre-trained ResNet50 PyTorch model for prediction, the performance is
top 1 accuracy : 0.46
top 5 accuracy : 0.79
However, both accuracies become zero after I convert to TVM and execute.

I also use ONNX-TensorFlow backend to run prediction and the accuracy is
onnx-tf top1 accuracy : 0.5
onnx-tf top5 accuracy : 0.81

What I did

I didn’t find straight way to convert PyTorch to NNVM/TVM, thus I convert PyTorch to ONNX representation first, and use this tutorial to compile ONNX to NNVM and execute using TVM.

How to reproduce

To reproduce my issue, please download my source codes here.

Big Thanks!

this is a bit strange, can you try to run the onnx tutorial through some of your images and see what is going on? it would due to mismatch in preprocessing

@tqchen Thanks for your reply!

Sorry maybe I didn’t describe it precisely. We have 3 experiments.

First, I use PyTorch pre-trained model, the performance is:
top 1 accuracy : 0.46
top 5 accuracy : 0.79

Then, I convert PyTorch to ONNX. Since ONNX doesn’t support PyTorch import, I import to TensorFlow and run inference. The performance is:
top1 accuracy : 0.5
top5 accuracy : 0.81

Last, I convert PyTorch to ONNX, and then from ONNX to NNVM/TVM, the performance is:
top1 accuracy: 0.0
top5 accuracy: 0.02

Therefore, I think maybe the issue is during ONNX to NNVM/TVM step, or maybe I didn’t use TVM stack correctly.

that is why i suggest trying to run through the tutorial and try out one image to see what it classifies to, to see if there is any mismatch in the pipeline

@tqchen